clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Basketball Awards: Isaiah Thomas, Klay Thompson, Matthew Bryan-Amaning Make All-Pac-10 First Team

The Pac-10 released its awards on Monday, with Derrick Williams taking home the Pac-10 Player of the Year award, the conference’s highest honor. In addition to the individual awards, the All-Pac-10 teams were released, as well. The Pac-10 does it a bit different than most, naming 10 players, regardless of position, to the All-Pac-10 first team. Three local players made the cut, with Isaiah Thomas and Matthew Bryan-Amaning representing Washington and Klay Thompson representing Washington State.

The full first-team is as follows, released by the Pac-10 website.

Matthew Bryan-Amaning WASH
Jeremy Green STAN
Jorge Gutierrez CAL
Tyler Honeycutt UCLA
Malcolm Lee UCLA
Reeves Nelson UCLA
Isaiah Thomas WASH
Klay Thompson WSU
Nikola Vucevic USC
Derrick Williams ARIZ

It’s hard to argue many of the first-teamers, though Honeycutt is a questionable choice. Joevan Catron had an outstanding campaign for the Oregon Ducks, posting better numbers than Honeycutt while being much more valuable for the success of his team. The Oregon Ducks, largely viewed as the worst team in the conference on paper, surprised many in 2010, finishing in eighth place.

Washington State’s DeAngelo Casto was named to the All-Pac-10 second team, as well. The full list is below.

DeAngelo Casto WSU
Joevan Catron ORE
Jared Cunningham OSU
Harper Kamp CAL
Trent Lockett ASU

Washington and Washington State are headed to Los Angeles for the Pac-10 Tournament, where the in-state rivals will face-off for the third time this season in the quarterfinals. For more on the Huskies and Cougars, check out SB Nation’s UW Dawg Pound and CougCenter.

Stay with out college basketball awards StoryStream as we continue to update all the awards handed out on Monday.