clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe on shortlist for the FIFA Women's Ballon d'Or

The Seattle Sounders Womens' Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe are on the shortlist to receive the FIFA Women's Player of the Year for 2012.

Doug Pensinger

Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe of the Seattle Sounders Women are on the shortlist for the FIFA Women's Player of the Year award after their performances at the 2012 London Olympics.

Each player scored three goals during the gold medal run by the United States.

While the two led the United States this summer, they are also part-time players for the Sounders Women. Morgan played in three contests with Seattle and scored two goals to go along with two assists. Rapinoe appeared in two games for the club and did not score.

The names of the 10 finalists were released Thursday by FIFA, and winners will be announced at the FIFA Ballon d'Or galla on Jan. 13, 2013. Awards will also be given to a coach of the year and most beautiful goal of the year.

Here's the entire list of the other candidates for women of the year:

Camille Abily (France)

Miho Fukumoto (Japan)

Carli Lloyd (USA)

Marta (Brazil)

Aya Miyama (Japan)

Alex Morgan (USA)

Megan Rapinoe (USA)

Homare Sawa (Japan)

Christine Sinclair (Canada)

Abby Wambach (USA)