clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall Of Fame 2012: Recognition For Cortez Kennedy And A Look Ahead To 2013 Candidates

The Seattle Seahawks and their fans got some very good news on Hall of Fame Saturday. When the 2012 class of inductees into the Pro Football Hall of Fame was announced, Cortez Kennedy was among the six players selected for enshrinement in Canton this August. The dominant defensive tackle played all 11 of his NFL seasons with the Seahawks and will now be recognized as one of the greatest to ever play the game. Which, of course, is something that Seattle fans already knew.

Cortez will not be forced to duke it out with a deep list of candidates next year. In 2013 there will be a new crop of eligibles for the Hall of Fame. These include Larry Allen, Morten Andersen, Priest Holmes, Steve McNair, Jonathan Ogden, Warren Sapp, Michael Strahan and Bryant Young.

These names are, of course, in addition to all of the finalists and semifinalists from this year who did not manage to make the cut.

For complete coverage of the Hall of Fame, please stay tuned to this StoryStream or SB Nation's dedicated NFL hub. For updates and perspective regarding the Seattle Seahawks, head on over to Field Gulls.