clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 NFL Hall Of Fame: Announcement Time, Candidates And Voting Information

The day has finally come for a few worthy NFL Hall of Fame candidates. On Saturday afternoon, the NFL will release the 2011 class of Hall of Fame inductees, selected from a list of 15 finalists pared down by the selection committee. Cortez Kennedy is among the list of finalists, highlighted by Deion Sanders, Shannon Sharpe and Jerome Bettis. The selection committee convenes today, selecting between four and seven players for enshrinement.

Here’s all you need to know about the Hall of Fame, who is up for induction and how the voting takes place.

Time: Voting takes place today, Feb. 5, and the announcement will be made at 4 p.m.

Place: NFL Network will have a selection show on Saturday evening.

Players Nominated: Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Dermontti Dawson, Richard Dent, Chris Doleman, Charles Haley, Chris Hanburger, Cortez Kennedy, Andre Reed, Les Richter, Shannon Sharpe, Deion Sanders, Marshall Faulk, Curtis Martin, and Willie Roaf.

Voting Process: A 44-person selection committee, made up mostly of sportswriters, convenes to the Saturday before the Super Bowl to vote on the list of finalists. Between four and seven finalists are chosen for induction. The only way for seven to be chosen is if both senior nominees — Hanburger and Richter this year — are elected. No more than five modern-era players can be enshrined each year.

It takes 80 percent of the vote to be enshrined, but if less than four modern-era candidates get 80 percent, the top-four vote-getters will be chosen.

Can former Seattle Seahawks defensive lineman Cortez Kennedy make it in on his third try? Check back later as we look at his chances, and the chances of the rest of the candidates for enshrinement.

For more on today’s voting, check out our 2011 NFL Hall of Fame StoryStream.