clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baseball Hall Of Fame Voting Results: Bert Blyleven, Roberto Alomar In, Edgar Martinez Loses Votes

The 2011 Baseball Hall of Fame voting results are in, and Cooperstown will welcome two new members to the hall. Bert Blyleven, with just one year left before his Baseball Writers Association of America eligibility was up, is in after falling just short in 2010. Roberto Alomar, in his second try for the hall, is also in, garnering a staggering amount of votes. Alomar and Blyleven join Pat Gillick, elected by the Veteran’s Committee, in the class of 2011.

Here’s how the voting broke down:

Roberto Alomar: 523 votes, 90.0 percent
Bert Blyleven: 463 votes, 79.7 percent
Barry Larkin: 361 votes, 62.1 percent
Jack Morris: 311 votes, 53.5 percent
Lee Smith: 263 votes, 45.3 percent
Jeff Bagwell: 242 votes, 41.7 percent
Tim Raines: 218 votes, 37.5 percent
Edgar Martinez:191 votes, 32.9 percent

Seattle Mariners designated hitter Edgar Martinez lost votes in 2011 after picking up 36.2 percent of the vote in his first year of eligibility. The result, however, is not unexpected after reading the tea leaves from ballots made public prior to the announcement. Martinez still has plenty of eligibility and it could take time for voters to warm-up to a career designated hitter’s Hall of Fame credentials.

Alomar, Blyleven and Gillick will be enshrined in the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York on July 24th in the traditional induction ceremony. For more on the Hall of Fame induction, and reaction as it comes, stay tuned to our StoryStream.