clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tour de France Results 2012: Mark Cavendish Wins Stage

Mark Cavendish was neck and neck with a lot of other riders today and narrowly pulled off a victory over a mostly flat 129-mile across Belgium today to win the second stage of the Tour de France. Fabian Cancellara retained the overall leader's yellow jersey.

Cavendish collected his 21st Tour stage victory as he literally lunged forward at the finish line to just barely push past defending champion Andre Greipel and Matthew Goss..

Cavendish is known for his ability in Tour sprints, and he has also won three stages in the Giro d'Italia and two in the Tour of Oman this year.

Fabian Cancellara remains seven seconds ahead of Wiggins as the rest of the top ten riders remained unchanged.

1. Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland) RadioShack-Nissan
2. Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain) Team Sky
3. Sylvain Chavanel (Franace) Omega-Pharma-QuickStep
4. Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing
5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway) Team Sky
6. Denis Menchov (Russia) Katusha
7. Philippe Gilbert (Belgium) BMC
8. Cadel Evans (Australia) BMC
9. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy) Liquigas
10. Ryder Hesjedal (Canada) Garmin-Sharp

Local product Tyler Farrar from Wenatchee, Washington is in 148th place at 3:53 seconds back.

Stick with this StoryStream for recaps, previews and more from the 2012 Tour de France. For all things cycling, check out Podium Cafe.