clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Phoenix Results: Denny Hamlin Takes Checkered Flag, Greg Biffle Comes In 3rd, Kasey Kahne Wrecks Early

The Subway Fresh Fit 500 took place on Sunday at the Phoenix International Raceway in Arizona. The second race of the 2012 Sprint Cup Series saw far fewer crashes, but one of the drivers who saw their car destroyed in the early going was Washington native Kasey Kahne. Kahne has now wrecked four cars through the first two weeks of the season, following three wrecks on Daytona weekend.

Jeff Gluck of SB Nation spoke with Kahne following the race.

"I've been so excited about it, and I was excited the whole offseason and couldn't wait for the season to get here," Kahne said. "I show up at Phoenix, we're the best car all day Friday, top two cars all day yesterday, would have been the same today. I just need to calm the fuck down."

The news for Washington drivers was not all bad, of course. Greg Biffle finished in third place for his second consecutive week and now sits in second place in the Sprint Cup standings, with 83 points. Denny Hamlin won Sunday's race and now holds the top spot in the Cup standings, with 89 points.

Hamlin picked up the win by finishing in front of Kevin Harvick, who ran out of fuel with just two laps remaining.

Following 25th and 39th-place finishes, Kahne is now No. 32 in the Sprint Cup standings, with just 25 points.

You can check out the full results of the race below.

Introducing the SB Nation YouTube Channel | Subscribe Now | Follow @SBNStudios

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Greg Biffle
  4. Jimmie Johnson
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Jeff Gordon
  9. Mark Martin
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Juan Pablo Montoya
  12. Aric Almirola
  13. Matt Kenseth
  14. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  15. Kurt Busch
  16. Bobby Labonte
  17. Carl Edwards
  18. AJ Allmendinger
  19. Travis Kvapil
  20. Regan Smith
  21. Ryan Newman
  22. Tony Stewart
  23. Dave Blaney
  24. Mike Bliss
  25. David Ragan
  26. JJ Yeley
  27. Brendan Gaughan
  28. David Gilliland
  29. David Stremme
  30. Clint Bowyer
  31. Paul Menard
  32. Marcos Ambrose
  33. Jeff Burton
  34. Kasey Kahne
  35. Landon Cassill
  36. David Reutimann
  37. Jamie McMurray
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Casey Mears
  40. Joe Nemechek
  41. Robby Gordon
  42. Scott Riggs
  43. Michael McDowell

For all news and information regarding the 2012 Sprint Cup Series, please visit NASCAR Ranting & Raving or check out SB Nation's dedicated NASCAR hub.