clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2010 A.L. Cy Young Award: Felix Hernandez Wins First Cy Young

Seattle Mariners ace Felix Hernandez has won the 2010 A.L. Cy Young award winner, as announced by the Baseball Writers Association of America. The award is Hernandez' first and the first for a Mariner since Randy Johnson won in 1995. Today marks only the second time a Seattle Mariner has won the award in the history of the franchise.

Hernandez garnered 21 of a possible 28 first place votes. David Price finished second and C.C. Sabathia finished third in the voting. The Baseball Writers Association of America had the full release.

Hernandez, 24, was named first on 21 of the 28 ballots cast by two writers in each league city. He received two votes for second place, three for third, one for fourth and one for fifth for a total of 167 points. Voting is tabulated on a system rewarding seven points for first place, four for second, three for third, two for fourth and one for fifth. The BBWAA expanded the Cy Young Award ballot from three to five pitchers this year.

Hernandez led the American League in innings pitched (249.2), ERA (2.27) and was second in strikeouts to Jered Weaver (232) on his way to a 13-12 record in 2010. Despite a lack of run support and wins, Hernandez led the league in nearly every statistical category, creating a lively debate about his candidacy for the award.

Congratulations to Hernandez and the Mariners for bringing home the Cy Young!